AUSTRIA - introduction

Once the center of power for the large Austro-Hungarian Empire, Austria was reduced to a small republic after its      defeat in World War I. Following annexation by Nazi Germany in 1938 and subsequent occupation by the victorious  Allies, Austria's 1955 State Treaty declared the country "permanently neutral" as a condition of Soviet military withdrawal.
Neutrality, once ingrained as part of the Austrian cultural identity, has been called into question since the Soviet collapse of 1991 and Austria's increasingly prominent role in European affairs. 
A prosperous country, Austria joined the European Union in 1995 and the euro monetary system in 1999. 
 The Map shows  Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, a landlocked country in East Central Europe that borders the Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Switzerland.

With an area of 83,871 km² Austria is smaller than Portugal (92,090 km²), or slightly smaller than the U.S. state of Maine.
The country is mostly dominated in the west and south by mountains (the Alps), the Central Eastern Alps, the Northern Limestone Alps and the Southern Limestone Alps are all partly in Austria.
About a quarter of the country along the eastern and northern margins of the Alps can be considered low lying or gently sloping.
Austria's highest point is Grossglockner mountain with a height of 3,798 m (,949 ft). The Pasterze glacier, Austria's most extended glacier covers parts of the Grossglockner's eastern slope.

The major rivers north of the watershed of the Austrian Alps are the Inn, the Salzach, and the Enns, they are tributaries of the Danube. The rivers south of the watershed are the Gail and Drau rivers in Carinthia and the Mürz and Mur rivers.

Austria has a population of 8,452,000 people (2013), capital and largest city is Vienna, with a population of 1.74 million people.
Spoken languages are Austrian German (official), spoken regional languages are Croatian, Hungarian, and Slovene.

Depicted on the map is Austria with surrounding countries, international borders, major cities, main roads, rail routes, and major airports, Vienna International Airport (in German: Flughafen Wien; IATA Code: VIE) is the primary international airport in Austria).
Cities and Towns in Austria:

The map shows the location of largest cities in Austria. (population data- 2013) 
  • Vienna - Wien capital and largest city, with a population of 1.74 million people.
  • Graz (300,000), Austria's second-largest city and the capital of Styria (Steiermark), known as a student city with six universities
  • Linz (190,000), founded by the Romans, today one of the main economic centers of Austria and the capital of Upper Austria (Oberösterreich)
  • Salzburg (150,000), capital of the federal state of Salzburg, famous for its baroque architecture of the "Old Town" and as the birthplace of composer Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
  • Innsbruck (117,000), capital of Tyrol (Tirol) and the cultural and economic center of western Austria, it is an internationally renowned winter sports center
  • Klagenfurt (90,000), capital of Carinthia (Kärnten), one of the nine Austrian states.
Vienna Salzburg and Innsbruck are major tourist attractions.

There are also important ski and summer holiday areas, especialy in the Tyrol region

Please scroll to bottom of the page to see the map of Austria


Berkeley International   
F-13A-02 Metropolitan Square     
Damansara Perdana
47820 Petaling Jaya
Phone  +603 7731 2242